Brochs Chat

George

I was up at Loch Naver yesterday with Gerald, and we paddled across in a canoe to the Dun Creagach broch. Excellent adventure. Not many get to see the Dun Creagach broch up close and personal, as it's very remote and the only access is across the loch by boat. That's Ben Kilbreck covered in snow in the background.

duncreagachgerald.jpg.679dd1531e0b5ffc82b471f67624e9c2.jpg

Someone in Australia sent me this. Looks much more modern than our Highland brochs, and look inspired by them. I still believe the Picts were European refugees escaping Roman rule. Anyone any idea where and when this was constructed?

brochcamp.jpg.0378dd4b673cea65b74db64909934776.jpg

Last week I made up my mind to start out the new year with a resounding victory, but sometimes success doesn't come easy. I've been putting off visiting the Dail Langwell broch for a few years as it is remote, there is no easy access, and it's difficult to get to. Would that be a suitable victory for New Year's day? Checked the Met weather forecasts, and after studying maps for a while, decided to go for it. I knew it would be a hard day out, but I felt ready. Here's the broch on the opposite bank of the River Cassley from the single track road.

daillangwellmap.jpg.57689dae96254a7015262c5310bf59de.jpg